Tiger-Tiger Roar!

Aren’t they cute?  My kids got these two tigers from a birthday party they went to last weekend.  They were part of a “Ni-Hao, Kai Lan” party favor bag.

After seeing these two little tigers this morning, I decided to make a batch of mini carrot cupcakes with striped frosting.  No.  It’s not because I think of food when I see tigers.  Eeew.  It’s more because my hubby bought a Costco sized bag of carrots the other day and I’ve been trying to find ways to use it all up.  After carrot soup, carrot puree for the baby, carrot sticks, carrot juice, and steamed carrots, what else is there to make, but tiger inspired cupcakes.  I mean, they’re both orange, right?

Anyways, off I went to search for a carrot cake recipe, and I finally settled on the Why-I-Joined-Zaar Carrot Cake recipe on Food.com, formerly known as Recipezaar.

 

At first I thought the cake was going to be super dense cuz the batter was pretty thick, but then … “ta-da!” 

 

 

I then made a Vegan Cream Cheese Frosting using a recipe from the book Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.  I’ve tried several recipes from this book and they are di-vine.  I think they’re comparable to non-vegan cupcakes or even better.

Finally, I finished off the cupcakes with chocolate swirls using Alton Brown’s Writing Chocolate recipe.  The kids loved it.  OK.  So they love anything with frosting on it.  But then….

 

even the tiger came out for a midnight snack (just like Nigella Lawson)!

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

