Chocolatey Goodness

My son went to a bridal shower with me last weekend and he was really upset that he couldn’t have any of the chocolate cake because he’s allergic to dairy. Normally, I would just wipe off the cream and he could eat the cake plain, but it was impossible to do that with a molten chocolate cake. It’d be lethal to him. Wiping away his tears, I promised to make him something chocolatey at home.

After some searching on the Hershey’s site, I decided on the recipe for Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies.  I only had 1 egg at home, so I only made 1/2 the recipe.  I also added 1/2 a cup of pure semi-sweet chocolate chips to the recipe to make it even more chocolatey.  Since I was too lazy to make individual cookies, I just pressed the batter onto a cookie sheet and made 1 giant cookie.  I baked it for about 25 minutes and it came out perfect.

The outside was light and crispy, and the inside was soft and just a little bit gooey, kinda like a brownie.  I especially liked that it wasn’t too sweet.  Since my son is allergice to dairy, I made sure to use margarine, instead of butter, as well as to use pure cocoa powder and chocolate chips.  I never use anything that says “milk chocolate” on it.

I will definitely be making this recipe again.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

