My Eczema – Road to Recovery (Part 1)

Depression and anxiety seem to come hand in hand with facial eczema.  By now, I was so self-conscious I refused to go to work.  I tried applying for long-term disability, but was told that depression and severe eczema did not qualify for disability.  As long as I can move, I have to go to work. 

The human resources department called me everyday even though the doctor had already filled out the forms for short-term illness.  I refused to pick up any calls, but they kept calling even after my husband told them that he would deal with them directly.

In the end, I convinced my husband and my family that being a housewife was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life and I quit my job.  Everyone thought it was a bad idea, especially because I could get Employment Insurance if I was laid off or terminated.  However, I couldn’t deal with the stress any longer and just wanted to get it over with.

Most of the day I would just sit at home searching the web trying to find a treatment to cure myself.  I was willing to spend as much money as required, even if it meant going to a different country for the best doctor available. 

After months of searching, I finally came upon the name Dr. Jan Dutz from The Skin Care Centre.  Unfortunately, there were no available appointments to see him so I was referred to Dr. Youwhen Zhou instead.  Much to my amazement, Dr. Zhou believed me when I told him I had an overdose.  Hearing a doctor tell me that he belived me felt so good that I just couldn’t stop crying.  He acknowledged that I can no longer use steroids and introduced me to Elidel

My face felt a bit better after using Elidel, but decided to see Dr. Dutz as well when an appointment slot opened up.  Dr. Dutz is a wonderful doctor.  He was very understanding to my ongoing outbursts of tears.  He was also very patient.  He prescribed Protopic for me and it has absolutely changed my life.

This entry was posted in Eczema and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

